55th Halberg Awards



The 55th Halberg Awards are over, congratulations to all the winners:


Coach of the Year Award - Gordon Walker coached kiwi kayakers to two gold, one silver and one bronze medal.

Sportsman of the Year Award - Tom Walsh - Men's Shot Put at the 2017 IAAF World T&F Championships

Sportswoman of the Year Award - kayaker Lisa Carrington

Halberg Team of the Year award - Emirates Team New Zealand

Emerging Talent Award - cyclist Ellesse Andrews

New Zealand's Favourite Sporting Moment of the Year, rugby player Mitchell Hunt

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year Award - Sophie Pascoe

Rob Waddell has been inducted into the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame.

Steve Hansen who has been presented with the Sport New Zealand Leadership Award

Morrie Chandler - presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award


Team New Zealand has claimed New Zealand’s top sports honours for the 2017 year at the 55thHalberg Awards ceremony at Spark Arena in Auckland tonight.

The America’s Cup winning team was named the Team of the Year before being presented the supreme Halberg Award by Halberg Disability Sport Foundation patron the Governor-General, The Rt Hon Dame Patsy Reddy.

The Halberg Awards is the nation’s pre-eminent event to honour and celebrate sporting excellence by New Zealand teams and athletes in 2017 and raise funds for Sir Murray Halberg’s charity the Halberg Disability Sport Foundation

Team New Zealand winning the the greatest prize in sailing to lift the Auld Mug in Bermuda saw them named ahead the Team of The Year ahead of Black Ferns, Blacks Sox and the Women’s K2500m team of Lisa Carrington and Caitlin Ryan.

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern presented Lisa Carrington with the High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year for the second year.  Carrington, who claimed medals in all her four events at the World Kayaking Championships – including two gold edged out golfer Lydia Ko, Black Ferns Portia Woodman and double international Black Fern and Black Ferns Sevens player Sarah Goss.

Sophie Pascoe won the Halberg Disabled Sportsperson of the Year for the fifth time. The Para swimmer who set six world records in 2017 was named ahead of Para athletes William Stedman and Holly Robinson and Para skier Corey Peters.

Shot putter Tom Walsh was named the Sportsman of the Year after becoming New Zealand’s first male to win an IAAF Track and Field Championship. Walsh headed off All Black Beauden Barrett, Formula One driver Brendon Hartley and Blackcap Ross Taylor for the win.

Gordon Walker won the Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year for the second year running.Walker, who guided four canoe racing boats, including Lisa Carrington, to medals at the World Kayak Championships was named ahead of  Black Sox coach Mark Sorenson, Black Ferns coach Glenn Moore and rowing coach Gary Hay.

Track cyclist Ellesse Andrews, who won the individual pursuit and a world record at the UCI Junior Track World Championships in 2018 received the Emerging Talent award.  Andrews was named ahead of sailor Josh Armit, freeskiier Nico Porteous and rower Matthew MacDonald.

Crusader Mitchell Hunt’s last minute drop goal to secure the win against the Highlanders was chosen as New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment of 2017 – the only award voted on by the public.

During the ceremony All Blacks coach Steve Hansen was presented the Sport New Zealand Leadership Award. Rob Waddell was inducted into the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame and Morrie Chandler was recognised with the Lifetime Achievement Award for services to motorsport.

The annual Halberg Awards is the major fundraiser for the Halberg Foundation, the charity set up by Olympic champion Sir Murray Halberg (ONZ) in 1963 to enhance the lives of physically disabled young New Zealanders by enabling them to participate in sport and recreation.

The core work of Halberg is a team of Advisers based around the country who connect physically disabled young people to sport and recreation opportunities. The Halberg Advisers also deliver inclusive training on adapting sports and support clubs, schools and organisations to provide inclusive events and programmes. The Foundation also hosts the Halberg Junior Disability Games - a national three day sports competition for physically disabled young people.

 “It’s fantastic to be able to recognise another outstanding year of sport while also celebrating 55th years of the Halberg Awards and Sir Murray’s vision that sport should be possible for all New Zealanders.” says Shelley McMeeken, Chief Executive of the Halberg Disability Sport Foundation. 

Full list of winners and finalists for the 55th Halberg Awards:

Supreme Halberg Award winner: Emirates Team NZ (Yachting)

Finalists: Lisa Carrington (Canoe Racing), Tom Walsh (Athletics), Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming).

High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year winner: Lisa Carrington (Canoe Racing)

Finalists: Lydia Ko (Golf), Portia Woodman (Rugby Union), Sarah Goss (Rugby Union).

Sportsman of the Year winner: Tom Walsh (Athletics)

Finalists: Beauden Barrett (Rugby Union), Brendon Hartley (Motorsport), Ross Taylor (Cricket).

Halberg Disabled Sportsperson of the Year: Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming)

Finalists: Corey Peters (Para alpine skiing), Holly Robinson (Para athletics), William Stedman (Para athletics).

Team of the Year winner: Emirates Team NZ (Yachting)

Finalists: Black Ferns (Rugby Union), Black Sox (Softball), Women’s K2 – Lisa Carrington & Caitlin Ryan (Canoe Racing).

Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year winner: Gordon Walker (Canoe Racing)

Finalists: Gary Hay (Rowing), Glenn Moore (Rugby Union), Mark Sorenson (Softball).

Emerging Talent winner: Ellesse Andrews (Cycling)

Finalists: Josh Armit (Yachting), Matthew MacDonald (Rowing), Nico Porteous (Freeski).

New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment winner: Mitchell Hunt (Rugby Union)

Finalists: Martin Guptill (Cricket), Mitchell Hunt (Rugby Union), Michael Venus (Tennis), Black Ferns Sevens (Rugby Union), Emirates Team New Zealand (Yachting), Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamber (Motorsport), Black Sox (Softball), Tom Walsh (Athletics), Black Ferns (Rugby Union), Lisa Carrington (Canoe Racing), Ross Taylor (Cricket).

Sport New Zealand Leadership Award winner: Steve Hansen (Rugby)

Lifetime Achievement Award winner: Morrie Chandler (Motorsport)

Hall of Fame inductee: Rob Waddell (Rowing)