Athletics NZ Round up



ASB Christchurch Marathon, Cathedral Square – 3 June 2018
Brett Ellis of Australia won in a personal best of 2:27:39, after taking the lead at 16km, improving on his time of 2:29:20 when he finished 13th in last October’s Melbourne marathon. Dougal Thorburn the 2013 New Zealand champion and 2016 Christchurch winner in 2:24:51 was second in 2:30:43. Robert Prendergast was third in a PB 2:31:20 followed in by Ben Twyman also in a PB 2:37:59. Hannah Oldroyd last year’s women’s winner in 2:55:49 bettered this time to win again in 2:48:06. Mel Aitken was second in 2:53:42 from Lisa Brignull who ran a PB of 3:04:35.

Bradley Croker of Australia won the half marathon in a PB of 1:05:38, lowering his time of 1:06:58 set in Melbourne in 2012. Aaron Pulford the New Zealand half marathon champion in 2010 in Huntly was second in 1:06:24, from Daniel Jones 1:07:11 PB, Michael Voss 1:08:20 and Nick Horspool 1:08:36.
Alice Mason won the women’s half in 1:17:41. Olivia Burne was second in 1:19:04, Sally Gibbs 1:20:25 was third and Katrina Andrew fourth in a PB of 1:22:14. Gibbs who turns 55 on Tuesday holds the New Zealand masters W45 record of 1:17:03 and the W50 record of 1:18:58, and was ten minutes faster than the current W55 record. She is now aiming for the Gold Coast marathon next month.
Eddie Gavin in 1:56:15 and Olivia Radford in 2:35:04 were the winners in the half walk.
National 5000m champion Oli Chignell went neck and neck with Daniel Balchin in the 10km, winning in a PB 30:21. Balchin was credited with the same time. Oska Baynes was third in 30:40 with Jacob Holmes fourth in 31:01. 
Three times New Zealand 10,000m track champion Lydia O’Donnell ran a PB of 34:19 to win the women’s 10km from Penny Peskett 35:34, Navajo Prentice 35:55 PB and Rachel Kingsford 36:38. 
Rozi Robinson won the 10km walk in 57:58 followed in by Michael Thwaites 1:02:10.

Hughes Memorial Cross Country, Egmont A & P Showgrounds – 2 June 2018
Senior men 8km; Liam Woodford 28:40, Rudi Smith 29:45, Kyle Bridgeman 29:52. M35 Nathan Foley 29:19. M40 Oli Vincent 31:23. M45 Scott Whitley 32:58. M50 Richard Brewer 35:02. M55 Rob Dabb 35:52. M60 Allan Thomas 42:14. M65 4km Murray Laird 18:09. M70 Des Phillips 20:49. U/20 M 8km William Sinclair 28:33, Andre Le-Pine Day 28:54, Theo Purdy 29:06. U/20 W 4km Hannah O’Connor 14:15, Tessa Webb 15:28, Monique Whiteman 17:14. W40 Kirsten Foley 18:12. U/18 B 4km Zach Bellamy 13:37. U/15 B 4km Nat Kirk 14:29. U/15 G 3km Abby Carver 11:29.


Winter Throws, AUT Millennium Stadium, North Shore – 2 June 2018
Jayden Williamson 1.5kg DT 40.27m. Isaac Vaeau-Mulitalo 5kg HT 45.31m, 6kg HT 41.80m. Rizvan Caukwell 6kg HT 44.81m, 7.26kg HT 36.00m.


IAAF Race Walking Challenge, 32nd Gran Premio Cantones de Marcha, La Coruña – 2 June 2018
Gold Coast Commonwealth Games silver medallist Alana Barber finished seventh in the 20km in 1:33:10, 1:38 outside her New Zealand record set in China four weeks ago. London Olympics silver medallist Shenjie Qieyang of China won in 1:26:58 from Julia Takacs of Spain 1:27:58.



NCAA Div 1 West Prelim, Sacremento, 24 May: Kerry White 800m 2:16.45 (8H6).



Winter 1 Gold Coast, Griffith University, 20 May: Katrina Robinson 1500m 4:27.41 mx (2).



Kirsten Hellier of Auckland was made an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit, ONZM, for services to sport particularly athletics. 
Kirsten has represented New Zealand with distinction in the sport of athletics. She is nine times New Zealand women’s javelin throwing champion, 1987, 1989-95 and in 1999 and is the first New Zealand woman to throw the javelin 50m and 60m. In 1988 she was a finalist at the world junior championships in Sudbury Canada finishing 11th. Mrs Hellier competed at the 1990 Auckland Commonwealth Games finishing eighth, and at the 1991 world championships in Tokyo. She is New Zealand Olympian number 673 having represented New Zealand at the 1992 Barcelona Olympic Games where she finished a creditable 15th. 
Her crowning international success came in 1994 when she won the silver medal in the javelin throw at the Commonwealth Games in Victoria Canada. With this considerable experience in throwing her service to the sport is now in coaching. She set Dame Valerie Adams on her path of success coaching her from 1998 to 2010. She has coached numerous athletes to New Zealand titles and representation. Kirsten was coach of the year at the Halberg Awards in 2007 and 2008. Kirsten is currently an Athletics New Zealand High Performance programme coach for throws.


Fiona Allan of Auckland was made an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit ONZM for services to Paralympic Sport.
Fiona has been Chief Executive of Paralympics New Zealand (PNZ) since 2007, having first been appointed as Operations Manager in 2006.

She has worked to steadily develop the Paralympic Movement in New Zealand and is a passionate advocate for Para sport, from a grassroots level, and through the pathway to the Paralympic Games. She has overseen significant growth in Paralympic sport in New Zealand and has attended six Paralympic Games during her tenure. New Zealand ranked number one in the world per medals per capita at the London 2012 Paralympic Games and Rio 2016 Paralympic Games and number six in the world per medals per capita at the recent PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Games.


Tracy Phillips of Auckland was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit MNZM for services to the New Zealand Police and the community.

Tracy was the bronze medallist in the high jump at the 1990 Auckland Commonwealth Games and three times New Zealand high jump champion 1993, 94, 96. She received the New Zealand 1990 Commemoration Medal.
Inspector Phillips was the driving force behind the introduction of the Tac Comms programme, developing a ‘train the trainers’ course which she has delivered in nine of the twelve Police Districts to date. She is Coordinator of the Pan Auckland Police Horse Group and has organised mounted horse patrols.

Alison Brearley of Auckland received the Queen’s Service Medal QSM for services to sport and education.
Alison has held a number of administration and coaching roles with the Manurewa Netball Association and the Manurewa Athletic and Harrier Club. She was one of the first women to gain an official coaching certificate from the New Zealand Amateur Athletics Association and was a track umpire at the 1990 Auckland Commonwealth Games. Alison is currently a committee member of the Papakura Athletic and Harrier Club.




Paihia Half Marathon, 3 June: Gene Rand 1:24:16, Julian Ng 1:25:44, Andrew Sclater 1:26:18. Zoe Garrett 1:41:25, Melissa Vicars 1:43:33, Katie McVerry 1:46:07. Walk; Dean Williams 1:57:12, Tina Maher 2:15:36. 12km; Jason Wright 59:10, Jonny Martin 60:32, Allister Ackers 60:59. Janice Powell 1:04:26, Debbie Monaghan 1:10:45, Liz McLellan 1:12:10. 5km; Mark Carryer 18:31.


Mt Runners Half Marathon, 3 June: Jack Moody 1:09:58 PB, Nick Berry 1:14:36, Kyle Macdonald 1:17:16. Lisa Cross 1:20:33, Hannah Wells 1:25:53, Sonia McAllister 1:34:43. Walk; Penny Purcell 2:20:19, Alan Clarke 2:20:21. 10km; Regan Bones 34:58, Ben Ruthe 35:39, Brad Dixon 37:42. Sarah Gardner 38:08, Morgan Ball 41:04, Alison Andrews-Paul 41:22. Walk; Michael Young 1:11:07. Robyn White 1:14:39.

Athletics NZ