Aussie trio advance to K1W final

14/02/2015 by Steve Knowles

Jessica Fox, Alison Borrows and Rosalyn Lawrence (pictured) have advanced to the K1W Australian Open final on Sunday after finishing in the top 10 on today’s semifinal.

Italian Stephanie Horn upstaged the trio though to record the fastest run down the 20 gate course of 102.98, 0.38 seconds ahead of Fox.

credit Sportscene.

2013 Australian Open champion Katerina Kudejova of the Czech Republic executed the third fastest run, 0.88 seconds behind Horn.

Completing the start list in tomorrow’s final are German trio Ricarda Funk, Melanie Pfeifer and Jasmin Schornberg, Luuka Jones of New Zealand, and Veronika Vojtova of the Czech Republic.

The semifinal acted as the second of three selection trials for the Australian senior team. Putting Fox, Borrows and Lawrence in a strong position to secure a place on the national team this year.

Noemie Fox was the best of the Australian junior girls in 14th ahead of Kate Eckhardt (20th) and Demelza Wall (26th).

Local favourite Lucien Delfour will be the man to beat in Sunday’s K1M final after winning the semifinal today at the Australian Open in Penrith.

The 26 year old produced a clean run of 87.24 to finish 1.24 seconds ahead of German Sebastian Schubert.

Hannes Aigner, also of Germany, finished third in 89.92.

The battle for Australian senior selection intensified with just 0.53 seconds separating Daniel Watkins, Jaxon Merritt and Warwick Draper who finished fifth, sixth and seventh respectively.

Defending champion Michael Dawson of New Zealand also cruised through to the final after producing the fourth fastest run of 90.10.

Czech Jiri Prskavec, German Alexander Grimm and Frenchman Mathieu Biazizzo round out a star studded start list for the final.

U23 and junior selection was also fought with Watkins winning the second U23 selection trail ahead of Tim Anderson (15th) and Ben Pope (19th).

Junior Worlds finalist Angus Thompson completed a clean sweep of the junior K1M selection trials finishing 19th overall, one spot ahead of Victorian Tristan Carter.

The K1M final is scheduled to commence at 12:06pm AEST.