Christchurch to host 2021 Mountain Bike National Championships



Cycling New Zealand, along with Mountain Bike New Zealand, has today announced that Christchurch will host the 2021 Mountain Bike National Championships on 27 and 28 February.


Oceania and New Zealand champion Anton Cooper will be on home turf for the championships

The cross-country titles will be decided at Crocodile Mountain Bike Park at Kennedy’s Bush, Halswell, staged in conjunction with Christchurch Singletrack Club on Saturday 27 February with the downhill championships at nearby Christchurch Adventure Park on Sunday 28 February with support from Gravity Canterbury club.


Both facilities are well-known and respected by the mountain bike community, with the event also supported by the Christchurch City Council.


“I’m excited about the prospect of hosting the 2021 Nationals event in conjunction with Gravity Canterbury and Cycling New Zealand. Our course planning is well underway and we intend to deliver a very high quality cross-country course,” said Murray Anderson, Chairman Christchurch Singletrack Club.

“Having successfully run the New Zealand Open for several years and receiving the Mountain Bike Event of the Year award for our efforts in hosting a round of the 2019 MTBNZ National Cup Round, we are eager and excited at the prospect of hosting the 2021 Mountain Bike National Championships,” said Agata Bulska, President of Gravity Canterbury.


The two clubs are keen to work in collaboration with Cycling New Zealand and gain further capability within the clubs as they look to the future.


“The 2021 Mountain Bike National Championships is a key piece of a long-term event hosting strategy we have been working on with a wider working group in Canterbury,” said Janette Douglas, Events Director, Cycling New Zealand.


“The facilities at both venues are proven for their excellent standard, and we are looking forward to considerable interest from our domestic riders as well as our professionals, who will be looking to use this event to springboard into a new season with hopefully improved prospects for international competition.”


Entries will be open from 7 December.