Clements Endurance Swim Series



Words -  Peter Gibbs
Ben Marshall triumphed in a sprint finish from Terry Bone in race three of the Clements Endurance Swim Series - The 2.8km Haulashore Circuit on Sunday.
With the younger swimmers taking part in pool competition, the way was clear for the more mature competitors to make their mark.
After a summer of windy, rough swims, the early morning high tide start provided flat conditions with next to zero tidal flow for the 80 competitors.
Photo: Annie Odienne
Christina Harris was the first woman to finish, taking overall 5th place. Photo: Annie Odienne
Marshall and Bone led the field for the entire course around Haulashore Island, but had trouble sighting the finish buoy in the morning sun.
Both went slight past the buoy, but quickly realised their mistake, Marshall grabbing the advantage to take the win in 36 minutes 37 seconds, a five second advantage.
With the field well spread, Andrew Martin (36.57) took third, ahead of Ben Van Dyke (38.58), Chris Vincent (39.06) and the first woman, Christina Harris (40.16).
Lucy Barron (42.57) was the second woman to finish, ahead of Jodie Lovell (43.00), Jude Vincent (43.03), Janis Crampton (43.23) and Wendy Healey (43.25).
Hannah Martin raced away over the short course of 1000m to the 'dolphin' navigation marker and return, winning in 15min 21sec, ahead of Nicole Le Bas Thurlow (18.56), Emma Innocente (19.37) and Lesley Stevens (22.00).
Full results,