Cycling New Zealand plans return for junior track development squads


After treading water during a coronavirus-hit year, Cycling New Zealand is pushing ahead with development programmes for the best teenage track cycling talent in New Zealand.


Christchurch’s Amelia Sykes has been selected in the New Zealand Under-19 track squad. (Photo: Eugene Bonthuys)


Cycling New Zealand has named 30 Under-19 track riders, split between two squads, to identify the emerging talent and establish development programmes for 2021.


While there is still no certainty of international competition programme next year, Cycling New Zealand wants to press ahead with continued development of the best rising talent.


“This year we had the junior track world championships cancelled and much of the domestic season compromised,” said Cycling New Zealand high performance athlete development lead, Graeme Hunn.


“We want to continue our commitment for the development of our best junior riders despite uncertainty for international competition for 2021.


“We will continue to prepare athletes should international competition eventuate for 2021 and look ahead to the future to ensure riders are aiming for the next Olympic cycle.


“We were pleased to receive more than 50 applications for the junior development track squads.”


The squad comprises 15 riders who will be considered for the 2021 UCI Junior World Track Championships if it eventuates, and a 15-strong squad to receive further coaching focus to aid their development looking further ahead.


The Cycling New Zealand Under-19 National Track Squad is:

Female, Endurance: Mikaela Grant (Christchurch), Jenna Borthwick (Christchurch), Amelia Sykes (Christchurch), Prudence Fowler (Auckland), Charlotte Spurway (Christchurch).

Sprint: Sophie de Vries (Auckland), Lily Cawood (Cambridge).

Male, Endurance: Jack Carswell (Cambridge), Mitchel Fitzsimons (Timaru), Zakk Patterson (Hamilton), Ryan Macleod (Christchurch), Joel Douglas (Auckland).

Sprint: Hamish Coltman (Hamilton), Jaxson Russell (Cambridge), Kaio Lart (Nelson).

Cycling New Zealand Under-19 National Development Track Squad:

Female, Endurance: Rhylee Akeroyd (Invercargill), Jessica Spencer (Invercargill), Bee Townsend (Auckland), Jorja Clouth (Auckland), Aimee Blackmore (Auckland), Ciara Kelly (Invercargill).


Male, Endurance: Oliver Watson-Palmer (Queenstown), Jonathan Fish (Waimate), Kyle Aitken (Cambridge), Jonty Harris (Christchurch), Jaxson Whyte (Timaru), Michiel van Heyningen (Christchurch).


Sprint: Jared Mann (Hamilton), Liam Cavanagh (Hamilton), Michael Audeau (Christchurch).