Injury forces Spratt out of the Australian Team for 2020 UCI Road World Champs



Cycling Australia regrets to advise that Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton-Scott) has not fully recovered from injuries sustained in a crash in the Giro Rosa on September 17, and accordingly will be unable to compete in the 2020 UCI Road World Championships Women’s Road Race in Imola this Saturday 26 September.


Spratt will be replaced by Tiffany Cromwell (Canyon–SRAM). Cromwell’s selection will be her tenth World Championships women’s road race. The experienced Cromwell boasts two top ten finishes, most recently placing fifth in 2014. 


“Right now it feels pretty devastating that I am not well enough to be able to race the Worlds. My shoulder is recovering well but unfortunately, my concussion still needs some time,” said Spratt, a dual World Championship medallist (2019 bronze and 2018 silver) in the road race. 


“The Worlds was a huge target so it’s hard to come to terms with knowing the form was exactly where it needed to be. But at the same time I am grateful that I have a team around me that prioritise my health and wellbeing.


“Even though I won’t be on the start line, I still feel part of the Aussie team and I can’t wait to support and cheer for the team on Saturday. It’s a really tough and technical course so I think it can still suit our riders well so I only wish every bit of success to the girls. My previous worlds success would not have been possible without all of their support so it will be exciting to see chances taken this year to go for a result.


“2020 has definitely been full of challenges but I know I can bounce back stronger with some time.”


The 2020 World Championships format will feature four events in the elite categories. The Championships’ challenging road race routes will see the men take on 5,000 metres of climbing on a 259.2km course, while the women will tackle 2,750 metres of climbing over their 144km course. The time trial course will feature a flat 32km circuit.


SBS On Demand / Viceland will broadcast the elite women's and men's time trial and elite women's and men's road races.


2020 Australian Team 

Women’s Road Race

  • Grace Brown (Mitchelton-Scott)
  • Tiffany Cromwell (Canyon–SRAM)
  • Brodie Chapman (FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope)
  • Lucy Kennedy (Mitchelton-Scott)
  • Shara Marche (nee Gillow) (FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope)
  • Rachel Neylan (Cronos Casa Dorada Women Cycling) 
  • Sarah Roy (Mitchelton-Scott)

Men’s Road Race

  • Simon Clarke (EF Pro Cycling)
  • Luke Durbridge (Mitchelton-Scott)
  • Chris Hamilton (Team Sunweb) 
  • Jai Hindley (Team Sunweb)
  • Damien Howson (Mitchelton-Scott)
  • Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)
  • Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo)
  • Nicholas Schultz (Mitchelton-Scott)

Women’s Time Trial

  • Grace Brown (Mitchelton-Scott)

Men’s Time Trial

  • Rohan Dennis (Ineos Grenadiers)
  • Luke Durbridge (Mitchelton-Scott)