Kayak-HQ Queen & King of the Bay Surfski Race 2017




It was a short reign for Lisa Morrison and Haydn Lockie who won the 2016 prestigious surfski titles in Tasman Bay last December. The Tasman Bay Kayak Racing Club have decided to move the annual event towards the end of summer, as opposed the traditional date at the start of summer.


However, with only a matter of weeks since the title race, Morrison and Lockie may still have the form to defend successfully.


About 25-ocean paddlers are expected to compete in the race that starts at Kaiteriteri Beach and Finishes in Port Mapua. There are five divisions with both single and double surf skis on the water. The first race begins at 1:00pm and the first paddlers are expected to finish about 4:00pm, completing the 26km route.


The forecast for the race day is light north easterly winds which will prove manageable and interesting conditions for the competitors.


Lockie is the inform male paddler and it will only be Dan Busch that has a chance to beat Lockie to the port. The race for the podium spots will be close between Danial Bremner, Nathan Fa’avae and Reid Forrest. Both Busch and Fa’avae are previous winners of the mens race.


The women’s race sees the return of former holder of the trophy Lynley Coventry, Suzie LeCren who has won the title three times may be amongst the action too. Many local paddlers are training for the Masters Games in Auckland in April so will be using the race as valuable training.


The race is sponsored by KayakHQ and Vaikobi