Kiwi's Radford, Webby earn world open water swim selection

04/02/2015 by Steve Knowles

New Zealand open water champions Kane Radford and Charlotte Webby have booked places in the national team for July’s world championships in Russia.

The pair has been confirmed for selection following the international open water competition in Perth at the weekend which was part of the BHP Billiton swim series.

The open water competition in the Swan River featured many of the world’s best from USA, Great Britain, Europe and Australia.

Kane Radford in action.

Credit BW Media

Radford finished 19th in the men’s 10km, although only 30 seconds from the winner Andrew Gemmell from USA in 1:53.06, one of his fastest ever 10km times. Fellow Kiwi Phillip Ryan from Auckland’s Waterhole club, finished 21st, just two seconds behind Radford with London Olympic medallist Richard Winberger (Canada) finishing between them.

New Zealand swimmers had to first earn a start in the Australian event from performances at the national championships, and then had to finish within the top six Australian and New Zealand swimmers or within 20 seconds of the winner.

Radford (Rotorua) claimed the sixth placing among the Australasian swimmers.

Meanwhile Webby (Taranaki) had a strong performance in the women’s race, finishing 13th in 2:02.48.

She was fourth among Australian and Kiwi swimmers behind Melissa Gorman, Chelsea Gubeca and Kareena Lee to earn her nomination to the world championships.

The race was won by world short course gold medallist Sharon van Rouwendaal from the Netherlands, from Olympic medallist Keri-Anne Payne (GBR) while London Olympic medallist and last year’s Pan Pacific champion Haley Anderson (USA) could only manage fourth.

The New Zealand selectors confirmed the selection of both Radford and Webby today.


Men’s 10km open water swim: Andrew Gemmell USA 1:52.36, 1; Alex Meyer USA 1:52.38, 2; Daniel Fogg (GBR) 1:52.38, 3. Also New Zealanders: Kane Radford 1:53.06, 19; Phillip Ryan 1:53.08, 21; Troy Balvert 1:56.35, 25; Liam Albery 1:59.57, 34.

Women: Sharon van Rouwendaal (NED) 2:01.28, 1; Keri-Anne Payne (GBR) 2:02.08, 2; Rebecca Mann (USA) 2:02.08, 3. Also New Zealanders: Charlotte Webby 2:02.48, 13; Penelope Hayes 2:10.46, 29; Bridget Maher 2:15.55, 35.