New Zealand Rowing Championships


Heats concluded mid morning at day two of the 2020 Rocket Foods New Zealand Rowing Championships, with repechage races taking place from 11am.

Men’s Senior Quad (M Sen 4x) - Heat

With 14 entries, the men’s senior quad was raced over two heats. Heat one saw Wairau Rowing Club’s Jordon Gasson (stroke), Sebastian Krappe, Rhys Krappe and Harrison Somerville take first place, with Waikato Rowing Club’s Karl Manson (stroke), Charlie Rogerson, Jack O'Leary and Josh Toa placing first in heat two. Avon and Dunstan Arm Rowing Clubs also join Wairau and Waikato in progressing to the A Final. All remaining crews moved to repechages.

Brothers Sebastian (23) and Rhys (19) Krappe hail from San Francisco and are training under Kaye Surgenor at Wairau Rowing Club. Deciding to take a gap year to focus on rowing in the double, Sebastian and Rhys travelled to New Zealand in September last year, training alongside the club and attending local regattas. This week the brothers will compete together in both the senior and premier doubles, and senior and premier quads. The duo are joined this week in New Zealand by their parents, and will soon return to the US to target Olympic qualification in April.

Coach Kaye Surgenor is delighted to have the newcomers join the Wairau Rowing Club. ‘’It has been wonderful coaching Sebastian and Rhys over the New Zealand summer season and I am grateful for the opportunity to showcase club rowing and New Zealand to two athletes who have such high expectations of themselves, and a clear goal to achieve. They have been a pleasure to coach and Wairau Rowing Club wish them the best with their rowing pursuits when they return to the US.’’

Men’s Premier Eight (M Prem 8+) - Heat

Three crews contested the men’s premier eight heats with all progressing to the A Final. Southern RPC’s Hamish Bond (stroke), James Lassche, Stephen Jones, Tom Mackintosh, Mark Taylor, Zackary Rumble, Nathan Luff, Will Gilbert and Sam Bosworth (coxswain) placed first, with Waikato RPC’s Flynn Watson (stroke), Angus McFarlane, Anthony Allen, Shaun Kirkham, TK McLaren, Jonte Wright, William Thompson, Seth Hope and Caleb Shepherd (coxswain) in second. Mercer Rowing Club’s Ethan Alderlieste (stroke), James Hall, Alex McRobbie, Andrew Annear, Jason Nel, Guy Thomson, Elliot Janissen, Jonty Thomson and Brooke Houston (coxswain) placed third.

Women’s Intermediate Coxed Four (W Int 4+) - Repechage

Six crews contested the women’s intermediate coxed four repechage, with the first four placings progressing to the A Final. Wellington Rowing Club 1 crew of Clare Weterings (stroke), Shana Hall, Niamh Carey, Barbara McCallum and Angela Holgate (coxswain) placed first and Dunstan Arm Rowing Club’s Phoebe Wellstead (stroke), Katelyn McLeod, Isabella Crowther, Claire Shingleton and Delicia Obrien (coxswain) placed second. Porirua Rowing Club and Wellington Rowing Club 3 also progress to the A Final.

Women’s Premier Single Sculls (W Prem 1x) - Repechage

Two repechages were contested in the women’s premier single sculls with the first two placings in each progressing to the A Final. Repechage one saw Olivia Loe (Southern RPC) and Georgia Nugent-O'Leary (Central RPC) in first and second, with Sam Voss (Waikato RPC) and Jackie Kiddle (Central RPC) in first and second in repechage two. All remaining crews move to the B Final.

Women’s Novice Coxed Quad (W Nov 4x+) - Repechage

Crews needed a top four finish in the women’s novice coxed quad repechage to progress to the A Final. Star Boating Club’s Ava Johnston (stroke), Lily Coltart, Kate Barham, Lucy Boswell and Honey Bradford (coxswain) placed first, Hawkes Bay Rowing Club 1 of Emilie Gerber (stroke), Isla Bremner, Molly Cardwell-Dray, Liske Halford and Sophie King (coxswain) took second, with Hawkes Bay 2 Ava Woodbury-Rinkle (stroke), Hannah Oliver, Frith Donaldson, Caitlin Rowland and Elinor Oliver (coxswain) taking third. North Shore Rowing Club also progressed to the A Final.

Women’s Senior Double Sculls (W Sen 2x) - Repechages

The top two placing crews in the women’s senior double sculls repechages progressed to the A Final. Cambridge Rowing Club’s Karen Verwey (stroke) and Morgan Dunham took first place in repechage one, with Waikato Rowing Club 2 Justine Hobbs (stroke) and Alex Stefanovski winning repechage two. Waikato Rowing Club 1 and West End Rowing Club also progress to the A Final, with all remaining crews moving to the B Final.

Men’s Club Double Sculls (M Club 2x) - Repechage

81 events are being contested this week, with the largest number of entries in the men’s club double sculls (38). Across four repechages, only the top two crews progressed to the Semi-Final.

Repechage one saw Cure Boating Club’s Louis Knight (stroke) and Jamie Wolfe in first. Dunstan Arm’s Will Healey (stroke) and Zak Healey crossed the line first in repechage two, with Joel Clayton-Greene (stroke) and Liam Herder of Waikato Rowing Club taking first in repechage three. Wakatipu’s Oliver Herron (stroke) and Oliver Bisley also progress to the Semi-Final from repechage four.

Men’s Premier Single Sculls (M Prem 1x) - Repechage

In the men’s single sculls repechage, Jordan Parry (Waikato RPC), Cameron Crampton (Southern RPC), Isaac Grainger (Auckland RPC) and Matthew Dunham (Waikato RPC) all progressed to the A Final after securing a top four finish. 2019/20 is Dunham’s first season training as a heavyweight member of Rowing NZ’s Summer Squad, after previously competing internationally in the New Zealand lightweight men’s double sculls event.

New Zealand Rowing Foundation

On Thursday 20 February the New Zealand Rowing Foundation will host a Legacy Medal function. Legacy Medals will be presented to nine New Zealand representative rowers in celebration of their contribution to the history of New Zealand’s rowing.

The Legacy Programme initiative was created to acknowledge and honour New Zealand’s elite rowers who have competed at major international regattas.

Coinciding with Thursday’s medal presentations, the New Zealand Rowing Foundation will launch a new website profiling their initiatives, including working to establish a capital fund to support New Zealand’s developing rowers and funding the highly prestigious Legacy Programme.