New Zealand’s cycling stars join in with rising talent in National Track Series



New Zealand’s Olympic hopefuls, starved of competition throughout Covid-19 lockdown, will make an appearance at two national age-group cycling events starting this weekend.

General action from last year’s National Track Series; and reaction from Corbin Strong after winning the points race at the 2020 UCI World Championships.


The Vantage New Zealand endurance riders will have a busy time, with some competing in both the first National Track Series at the Avantidrome in Cambridge on Friday and the Vantage New Zealand Age Road Championships in Waipukurau, starting on 17 July.


The National Track Series is a three-event competition open for riders from Under-17 to Under-23, with two rounds at the Avantidrome and the final round at Invercargill.


The series has proven a significant catalyst for young riders to develop increased tactical and technical awareness as well as attend educational, coaching and other workshops.


There are more than 100 riders for the first event that includes individual and group sprint, points race, a Double Tempo, Madison, Scratch, Tempo, Elimination, Derby, Keirin and Madison Chase events.


Elite sprinters to compete this weekend include three-time world champion Sam Webster, Sam Dakin, and Zac Williams. The men’s endurance riders include world champion Corbin Strong, Nick Kergozou, Tom Sexton, Campbell Stewart, Aaron Gate and Regan Gough. The women’s elite squad competing includes world championship medallists Bryony Botha, Rushlee Buchanan and Holly Edmondston along with the development riders including junior world champion Ally Wollaston.


Outstanding age group contenders include national champion Jack Carswell, Mitchel Fitzsimons, Kaio Lart, Sebastian Lipp, Cailen Calkin, Angus Claasen, Prudence Fowler, Ella Wylie and Emily Paterson.


There is also interest in the appearance of European professional Hamish Beadle and junior world individual pursuit world record holder, Finn Fisher-Black, both waiting for European borders to open.


Competition starts at 4pm on Friday for sprint qualifying with session one racing from 6pm to 10pm. Saturday’s sessions are from 12noon to 4pm and 6pm to 10pm and Sunday’s final session 9am to 1pm. Entry is free for spectators.


For more information head to: