NZ Age Track Nationals - Kennett claims national omnium honours




Rio Olympian Dylan Kennett claimed the elite omnium title with a consistently dominant performance at the Avantidrome in Cambridge.


The event was part of the Vantage Age Track National Championships that has attracted nearly 300 riders competing in age group and Masters competitions.

Credit: Dianne Manson

Kennett was second in the scratch race and the tempo before winning the elimination and was equal top in the points race to win the title by nine points from Regan Gough and Luke Mudgway.


“We had such a strong field. I am a couple of years older than some of them so may be had more strength and my speed was a key factor,” Kennett said.


“Training has been going well. Today confirmed that. I did not have it easy because everyone in our worlds’ camp were flying. The scratch race and the elimination was some of the hardest racing we have had anywhere in the world which is a testament to the work the guys have put it.”


Kennett said while happy with his performance, he is not a fan of the new omnium format, reduced to four bunch races and eliminating timed events like the pursuit, sprint and time trial.


Auckland’s Georgia Danford took out the under-19 women’s omnium after winning the scratch race and the elimination with second placings in the tempo and the points race. She finished on 132 points, eight clear of Palmerston North’s Libby Arbuckle with Auckland’s Jenna Merrick third.


It proved a successful day for Hamilton’s Eva Parkinson who won two titles in the under-17 grade. She qualified second fastest in the individual sprint in 12.567, just 4/1000th of a second behind Canterbury’s Sami Donnelly.


The two qualifiers fought their way through to the final before Parkinson won in the deciding third ride, before going on to win the 5km Points race at the end of the programme.


In other age group action Jenna Borthwick (Mid South Canterbury) won the under-15 scratch race, while her compatriot Mitchel Fitzsimons continued in his winning way in claiming the under-15 Derby race.


Canterbury’s Laurence Pithie won the final double- points sprint to win the under-17 points race over fellow Cantabrian Griffyn Spencer.


The Masters turned to the keirin with Andrew Weatherley (Waikato Bay of Plenty) winning the category one final, Russell Ownsworth (Canterbury) the 40-44 years final and Russell Scott (Auckland) the 45-49 years honours.


In the women Kylea Gough won the category one final, fellow Southlander Erin Criglington won her third title in the category two final and Julie Gradon (Waikato Bay of Plenty) the category three honours.


Former Olympian Graeme Miller (Auckland ) won the 45-49 years 5km scratch race, John Stewart (West Coast North Island) the 40-44 years title over 7.5km.

Sami Donnelly and Eva Parkinson

Competition finishes today.


Elite men omnium:

Scratch: Luke Mudgway 1, Dylan Kennett 3, Nick Kergozou 3. Tempo: Regan Gough 1, Kennett 2, Campbell Stewart 3. Elimination: Kennett 1, gough 2, Mudgway 3. Points: Kergozou 1, Kennett 2, Gough 3. Final points: Kennett 140, 1; Gough 131, 2 on c/b; Mudgway 131, 3.

Elite Under-19 Women Omnium:

Scratch: Georgia Danford 1, Jenna Merrick 2,Libby Arbuckle 3. Tempo: Nicole Shields 1, Danford 2, Merrick 3. Elimination: Danford 1, Arbuckle 2, Kate Smith 3. Points: Arbuckle 1, Danford 2, Merrick 3. Final Points: Danford 132 points, 1; Arbuckle 124, 2; Merrick 119, 3.


Under-17 sprint final: Eva Parkinson (WBP) bt Sami Donnelly (Cant) 2-1. Bronze: Helena Rikiti (Southland) bt Tyla Green (Southland 2-1. Qualifying: Donnelly 12.563, 1; Parkinson 12.567, 2; Emily Paterson (Southland) 12.839, 3.

Under-17 Points:  Eva Parkinson (Waikato BOP) 1, Emily Paterson (Southland) 2, Mya Anderson (Waikato BOP) 3.

Masters, C3 Kerin: Julie Graddon (Waikato BOP) `1, Mandy Gumbley (Auckland) 2, Robyn de Has (Waikato BOP) 3.C2: Erin Criglington (Southland) 1, Lyn Peterken (Waikato BOP) 2, Nicola Stevens (Southland) 3. C1: Kylea Gough (Southland) 1, Leanne Dalley (Southland) 2, Samantha Jones (Canterbury) 3.

Under-15 Scratch: Jenna Borthwick (Mid SC) 1, Rhylee Akeroyd (Southland) 2, Aimee Sardelich (Waikato BOP) 3.


Under-17 Points: Laurence Pithie (Canterbury) 1, Griffyn Spencer (Canterbury) 2, Finn Fisher-Black (Tasman) 3.

Under-15 Derby: Mitchel Fitzsimons (Mid SC) 1, Jack Carswell (Waikato BOP) 2, Ben Irvine (WCNI) 3.

Masters, Keirin C3: Russell Scott (Auckland) 1, Graeme Litt (Canterbury) 2, Benny van der Griend (Auckland) 3. C2: Russell Ownsworth (Canterbury) 1, Antony Brown (Auckland) 2, Jonathan Leonard (Wellington) 3. C1: Andrew Weatherley (Waikato BOP) 1, Sam Park (Otago) 2, Michael White (Southland) 3.

Masters C3 Scratch, 5k: Graeme Miller (Auckland) 1, Benny van der Griend (Auckland) 2, Grant Christiansen (Waikato BOP) 3. C2 Scratch 7.5km: John Stewart (WCNI) 1, Russell Ownsworth (Canterbury) 2, Brendan Akeroyd (Southland) 3.

CAPTIONS: Dylan Kennett celebrates his win in the Omnium while Eva Parkinson (Waikato BOP, right) edges Sami Donnelly (Canterbury) in the final of the under-17 sprint.