Port Nelson swim series


Luke Kelly and Sierra Thomas continued to dominate the Port Nelson swim series with wins in race 12 on Thursday night.

In a summer of beautiful evenings, this was one of the best yet for the 155 swimmers who turned out. The water temperature near the Nelson Yacht Club ramp was a balmy 25 degrees, the sea was flat and the tidal current slight.

Kelly didn’t have things all his own way on the 1400m swim, with a drafting line forming behind him as other swimmers took advantage of the drag, leaving Kelly to navigate.

Around the final mark, things closed up, with Kelly winning in 16 minutes 19 seconds, from Xavier Anderson (16.22), Matai McGuinniety (16.23) and Alec Swan (16.29).

Thomas took advantage of the draft too, coming in fifth in 16min 40sec, just ahead of Sam McKenzie (16.42) and Terry Bone (16.55), leading in M40-49.

Gaps opened up after that, with Andrew Martin (17.38), the first in M50-59, and the second M40-49 swimmer Matt Hansen in 17min 57sec.

Ruby-Lou Stuart was the second woman home in 18min 3sec, ahead of Denis Cooper (18.12), Oxford Bayley (18.19) and Josh Amyes (18.21).

Christina Harris led the F50-59 group in 18min 30sec, narrowly ahead of Kerry Mathieson (18.33), with Flossie Van Dyke (18.40) first in F20-29.

Further back in the field, age group leaders were Ben Van Dyke (M60-69, 19.59), Dan Stoner (M30-39, 21.21), Renee Hunt (F40-49, 21.38).

Derek Eaton (22.25) sneaked in two seconds ahead of Stuart Hebberd in M70+, while Ruth Thomas (22.58) won F30-39 and Maggy Johnston (23.35) won F60-69.

Aliesha and Mathew Peacock delivered their normal one-two blow to the field in the 400m race, with Aliesha (6.02) coming in ahead of her brother Mathew (6.09).

Nick Lovell (7.05), Fenlon Bayley (7.34), Connor Eden (7.45) and Mia Langley (7.47) were next to finish.

Information and full results at nelsontriclub.co.nz.