Semi-Finals conclude NZ Rowing Championships


Serene conditions at Lake Ruataniwha greeted athletes on the second day of racing at the Rocket Foods New Zealand Rowing Championships.


Women’s Intermediate Single

Amelia Swindells (Mercer Rowing Club), Jenna Bragwynne (Tauranga Rowing Club), Elsie Talbot (Timaru Rowing Club) and Erin Tickelpenny (Te Awamutu Rowing Club) took the top four placings in Semi-Final 1 of the women’s intermediate single, with Semi-Final 2 seeing Pipi Horan (Wanaka Rowing Club), Grace Twaddle (Otago Rowing Club), Bridgitte O'Leary (Wairau Rowing Club) and Kate Dombroski (Clifton Rowing Club) take the four positions. All eight move through to the A-Final.


Women’s Club Single

Polly Wenlock (Porirua Rowing Club), Nicole Campbell, Sophie Hodson (Clifton Rowing Club), Ella Livingston (Petone Rowing Club), Elizabeth Reid (Invercargill Rowing Club), Sophie Smith (Dunstan Arm Rowing Club), Jenna Brangwynne (Tauranga Rowing Club) and Kate Pitcaithly (North End Rowing Club) will contest the A Final of the women’s club single after placing in the top four across two Semi-Finals.


Men’s Senior Quad

Waikato 1's crew of Finn Hamill, Jack O'Leary, Karl Manson and Evan Williams took first place in Heat 1 of the men's senior quad, and Auckland Rowing Club's Ryan Gass, Luke Shannon, Jack MacDonald and Leetham Beatt took first place in Heat 2. The top four crews in each heat all progress to the A Final, with Waikato and West End Rowing Clubs making up four of the eight lanes.


Men’s Senior Pair

Ryan Gaudin and Will Johnston (Picton Rowing Club) and Max Newton and Liam McArthur (Wellington Rowing Club) secured lanes in the A Final of the men’s senior pair through two repechages. Both crews join Waikato 1, Waikato 3, Waikato 4, Avon, Gisborne, and North Shore Rowing Club in tomorrow's A Final tomorrow.


Women’s Novice Double

Repechage 1 of the women’s novice double saw Samantha Lewell and Isabella McConaghy of Union Rowing Club progress to tomorrow’s A Final, while repechage 2 saw Lewell and McConaghy joined by Otago Rowing Club's Maggie Hepburn and Annabel Kelly.


Men’s Club Pair

Avon’s Lucas MacDonald and George Johnson (1) and Jose de Sousa and Jack Hearn (2) avoided elimination across two repechages in the men's club pair and will be lining up against West End, Blenheim, Tauranga, Hamilton, Gisborne and North Shore Rowing Club in tomorrow's A Final.


For full results from today and to view tomorrow’s schedule, visit All Finals including the newly introduced draft format of the premier eights and quads will be contested Saturday 20 February.

SKY Sport’s coverage of the 2021 Rocket Foods New Zealand Rowing Championships will begin screening from 25 February.


Principal Sponsor

Rocket Foods are Rowing NZ’s principal partners and naming rights sponsor to the Rocket Foods New Zealand Rowing Championships. Rocket Foods strives to provide the best wholesale bakery products to New Zealand, with their products sold at cafes, supermarkets and other eateries nationwide.