Tour de France: Pogacar wins title, Bennett wins in Paris



Tadej Pogacar from Slovenia won the Tour de France, at 21 becoming the second youngest champion in history, while Sam Bennett won the final sprint in Paris.

Pogacar secured the yellow leaders jersey off Primoz Roglic in a exceptional time trial just days ago.
It was three jerseys for the UAE Team Emirates star: yellow, white and polka dot.

The amazing tale of the UAE Team Emirates Tour de France 2020 journey ended on the Champs-Elysses in Paris, with Tadej Pogačar claiming the ultimate prize of victory.

Pogačar, the youngest winner since 1904 also claimed thepolka dot and the best young rider classification, as well as having won three stages (9th, 15th and 20th).


The success of the Emirati team is also topped off by the triumph of Alexander Kristoff in Nice who won the opening stage of the Tour, with the Norwegian wearing the yellow jersey on stage 2.

The final stage was won by Sam Bennett (Deceuninck-Quick Step) ahead of world champion Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo); with a solid 4th place going to Alexander Kristoff.

Pogačar: “It has been a long journey, which began well before we started in Nice and has ended in the most beautiful way. My season was focused on the Tour de France from the start of the year, the preparation was perfect and well planned by the team with training camps and training plans during the lockdown: I was always focused even in the difficult moments when the racing stopped earlier in the year.

I arrived at the Grande Boucle in good shape, along the way we lost two teammates, but the team managed to maintain a great atmosphere. It was a pleasure to experience this, with all my teammates and staff members by my side, the challenges that the Tour offered up every day, trying to always remain calm and, at the same time, concentrated. I really still can’t believe what fantastic moments I have lived!

It would have been great to finish second in Paris, but being here in the yellow jersey is the best you can ask for.
Today was a special day, I was able to finally chat calmly with the other riders while we rode. It was exciting to receive the compliments of so many riders in the bunch.
Cycling is a beautiful sport.”


Final GC
1 - Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates) 87hrs 20mins 05secs
2 - Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) +59secs
3 - Richie Porte (Aus/Trek-Segafredo) +3mins 30secs
4 - Mikel Landa (Spa/Bahrain McLaren) +5mins 58secs
5 - Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +6mins 07secs
6 - Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana) +6mins 47secs
7 - Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Jumbo-Visma) +7mins 48secs
8 - Rigoberto Uran (Col/EF Pro Cycling) +8mins 02secs
9 - Adam Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) +9mins 25secs
10 - Damiano Caruso (Ita/Bahrain McLaren) +14mins 03secs

Stage 21 result
1 - Sam Bennett (Ire/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) 2hrs 53mins 32secs
2 - Mads Pedersen (Den/Trek-Segafredo) Same time
3 - Peter Sagan (Svk/Bora-Hansgrohe)
4 - Alexander Kristoff (Nor/UAE Team Emirates)
5 - Elia Viviani (Ita/Cofidis)
6 - Wout van Aert (Bel/Jumbo-Visma)
7 - Caleb Ewan (Aus/Lotto Soudal)
8 - Hugo Hofstetter (Fra/Israel Start-Up Nation)
9 - Bryan Coquard (Fra/B&B Hotels-Vital Concept)
10 - Max Walscheid (Ger/NTT Pro)