Tour de France Stage 10 - Bennett Sprints to Win


Sam Bennett won the sprint in stage 10 of the Tour de France, with Primoz Roglic holding onto the leader's yellow jersey.

It was the 29 year old Irishman’s first stage win, outsprinting Australian Caleb Ewan at the end of the flat 168.5km route.

GC leader Roglic rode safely to stay 21 seconds ahead of defending champ Egan Bernal.

After two tough days in the Pyrenees, riders returned from the rest day to a pan flat 168.5km. There wasn’t a chance of the day being easy though – with the opportunities for the sprinters dwindling, all of them would be contesting this stage.

Starting on the Île d’Oléron and finishing on the Île de Ré, riders would be windswept the whole day. In spite of this though, a small break managed to get ahead of the peloton, building a lead of a little more than a minute.
The sprint teams always kept this in check, reducing it as the day went on before being caught with a little less than 100km of the day still to go.

This increase in pace caused the bunch to stretch out, even creating some splits on the road, while the fast pace and road furniture led to multiple crashes throughout the day.

At the head of the lead group, Peter Sagan took second in the intermediate sprint and with this taken care of, all eyes turned to the finale.

Riders first had to contend with roundabouts and street furniture in La Rochelle, before crosswinds saw echelons form as the peloton headed towards the finale on the Île de Ré.

Stage 10 results
1 - Sam Bennett (Ire/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) 3hrs 35mins 22secs
2 - Caleb Ewan (Aus/Lotto Soudal) Same time
3 - Peter Sagan (Slo/Bora-Hansgrohe)
4 - Elia Viviani (Ita/Cofidis)
5 - Mads Pedersen (Den/Trek-Segafredo)
6 - Andre Griepel (Ger/Israel Start-Up Nation)
7 - Bryan Coquard (Fra/B&B Hotels-Vital Concept)
8 - Cees Bol (Ned/Sunweb)
9 - Jasper Stuyen (Bel/Trek-Segafredo)
10 - Luka Mezgec (Slo/Mitchelton-Scott)

General classification
1 - Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) 42hrs 15mins 23secs
2 - Egan Bernal (Col/Ineos Grenadiers) +21secs
3 - Guillaume Martin (Fra/Cofidis) +28secs
4 - Romain Bardet (Fra/AG2R-La Mondiale) +30secs
5 - Nairo Quintana (Col/Arkea-Samsic) +32secs
6 - Rigoberto Uran (Col/EF Pro Cycling) Same time
7 - Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE-Team Emirates) +44secs
8 - Adam Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) +1mins 02secs
9 - Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana) +1mins 15secs
10 - Mikel Landa (Spa/Bahrain McLaren) +1mins 42secs