Track Cycle National Championships session 2

28/01/2015 by Steve Knowles

The 2015 Subaru Track National Championships got underway with a bang at Melbourne's Darebin International Sports Centre (DISC), with no less than nine national crowns being awarded on Wednesday.

In the evening session, Alex Morgan (VIC) clinched an emotional win in the elite men's individual pursuit. In the men's team sprint, New South Wales were the victors while Rohan Wight and Rikki Belder kickstarted their campaign with two titles a piece.

In the under 19 women's events, Bridget Mullany (NSW) bagged gold in the scratch race while junior world champion Danielle McKinnirey (SA) won individual pursuit gold.

The team of Amy Cure (TAS), Melissa Hoskins (WA), Annette Edmondson (SA) and Ashlee Ankudinoff (NSW) broke the Australian record, covering the 4000m in 4mins 20.999secs in a special record attempt scheduled prior to the evening session of the 2015 Subaru Track National Championships in Melbourne. 

Earlier in the day, Anna Meares, Stephanie Morton and Belder (SA) took home the women's team sprint national title. Scott Sunderland (WA) was the fastest against the clock in the 1km time trial while youngster Wight clinched the junior men's time trial.

The championships continue on Thursday, January 29, from 12.00pm with the women's sprint quarter finals and the junior women's time trial final. The evening session kicks off from 6.30pm and will treat fans to six finals including the men's team pursuit. 


Wednesday night recap

Men 4000 metre Individual Pursuit

Victoria’s Alex Morgan has bounced back from a health scare to claim what he describes as his “happiest win” in the elite men’s individual pursuit.

Morgan never looked in doubt in the race against the clock, steadily increasing his lead at every split to eventually stop the clock in 4:26.205, 4.3 seconds ahead of Tirian McManus (NSW / 4:30.510).

“I just can’t believe it,” said Morgan who earned silver in the event in 2014 behind Alexander Edmondson. “I was just happy with the qualifying time as I have had a few health issues over the past year or so, even the past few weeks I have had a few heart scares, so training hasn’t been the best. 

“I wasn't too confident but at the end of the day, I just went out there and hurt myself and it paid off. 

“I was on schedule until the halfway mark and then saw that Tirian might of been fading so I got a little bit excited.

“This is the happiest I have ever been,” exclaimed Morgan who is a two-time junior world champion and 2013 elite track world champion.

In the race for bronze, Daniel Fitter (QLD) was too strong for Jackson Law (NSW), posting a time of 4mins 24.235secs, almost two seconds ahead of Law (4:25.993).

Men Team Sprint

After qualifying fastest in the men’s team sprint, the New South Wales trio of Jamie Green, Mitch Bullen and Peter Lewis restamped their authority in the final, out-gunning South Australia for the national crown.

Photos Cycle Australia

Green set an early fast pace with Bullen continuing the momentum despite a strong challenge from second wheel rival and Commonwealth Games team sprint bronze medallist Matthew Glaetzer (SA).

Lewis finished strongly to record a new Australian championship time for the team, stopping the clock in 44.216 seconds.

"It is a great feeling," said Lewis. "This is my first national championship and to do it with an Australian Championship record like that, there's definitely no better way," said Lewis who competed in the sprint at the 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games.

"I haven't ridden a team sprint in two years, so I was pretty nervous there but I gave it everything in the last lap and came away with the goods. This is a big thing for me."

The South Australian team of Glaetzer, Jai Angsuthasawit and Patrick Constable (SA / 44.760) were just half a second of a second off the pace as they claimed silver.

In the race for bronze, Victoria’s Shane Perkins, Emerson Harwood and Jacob Schmid (VIC / 45.069) were too good for team Malaysia (47.136).

Men U19 3000 metre Individual Pursuit

South Australia’s Rohan Wight won his second national title for the day, taking home individual pursuit gold, adding to his 1km time trial title won earlier in the afternoon.

Wight never looked threatened in the 3000 metre event, leading Tasmania’s James Robinson by one and a half seconds at the halfway mark before winding up to eventually stop the clock in 3:16.566, almost four seconds ahead of Robinson (3:20.533).

In the bronze final, it was local boy Kelland O'Brien (VIC) who caught his more fancied rival Alex Rendell (WA) to secure a spot on the podium at his first national championships.

Women 500 metre Time Trial

It was South Australian Rikki Belder’s night with the 21-year-old clinching her second national title for the day – winning the elite women’s 500 metre time trial crown.

In an event, which has been claimed by Anna Meares and Kaarle McCulloch eleven times in the last 12 years, Belder stopped the clock in 35.297secs.

“It is pretty cool, backing it up after the sprint this afternoon was going to be tough, but to see what you can do after that, it is exciting,” said Belder.

Breanna Hargrave (SA / 35.484) was just 0.18 of a second off the pace of Belder, while Catherine Culvenor (ACT / 35.817) rounded out the podium.

It was Belder's maiden individual title, and came just hours after taking home gold in the team sprint with Meares and Stephanie Morton, her fourth team sprint national crown.

“I love the time trial. I have never trained specially for it, my first lap is strong, and I just hold on in the second.

“You have to take into consideration the big names weren’t here tonight, but I’m really happy,” said Belder of Meares and McCulloch who were non-starters in the event.

Women U19 2000 metre Individual Pursuit

Junior world champion Danielle McKinnirey (SA) led from start to finish to post a convincing victory in the under 19 women’s individual pursuit.

Oceania champion in the event, McKinnirey clocked up a time of 2mins 27.792secs in the 2000 metre event, 1.58 seconds ahead of silver medallist Tori Saunders (NSW / 2:29.378).

Nicola McDonald (NSW) rounded out the podium with a time 2mins 29.401secs.

The national title is McKinnirey’s second for the season, winning the omnium national championship in December.

Women U19 7.5km Scratch Race

In the under 19 women’s scratch race, Bridget Mullany (NSW) claimed her maiden national title, out-sprinting Kristina Clonan (QLD) and Danielle McKinnirey (SA) for line honours.

The 30-lap race was aggressive with several attacks however the speed of the bunch was too strong, nullifying any attempts at lapping the field.

Men under 19 sprint

In the men’s under 19 sprint qualifying, Derek Radzikiewicz (SA) qualified fastest with 10.448 seconds. Action continues of Thursday.