World Champion adds schools points race championship title to haul



World track cycling champion Ellesse Andrews showed her professionalism in winning the Under-20 girls points race on the final day of the Cycling New Zealand national school road championship in the Manawatu.

The 50th national schools championship attracted nearly 700 cyclists from 83 schools for the three-day competition, with the team time trials on Saturday near Levin, road races near Palmerston North on Sunday and the points races at the Manfeild Autocourse on Monday.

Ellesse Andrews (St Peters School Cambridge) wins a sprint on the way to victory in the senior points race in the Cycling New Zealand national secondary school championship at the Manfeild Autocourse in Feilding.

Andrews took out the first sprint and then kept up with the bunch to snatch up the points for 3rd in the next three sprints and secure the points race title in her last year of schools cycling.

In the senior boys category, Road Race winner Madi Hartley-Brown rode managed to win his points race as well ahead of Baily O’Donnell (Christchurch Boys High) and Aaron Wyllie (Auckland Grammar).

“That was the hardest race of my life, it was full gas the whole way riding into the wind so it was good to get the win” said Hartley-Brown.

The Under17 girls title was won by Ally Wollaston of St Peters School Cambridge who secured her spot after winning the final sprint much like Kiaan Watts of Hamilton Boys High did.

Laurence Pithie (Christchurch Boys High) took two of the four sprints in the Undr 16 Boys while Cambridge High’s Maddi Douglas won the Under 16 Girls race,

Pithie contributed to the Christchurch Boys High team winning the overall top boys school for the first time which should provide good motivation for the North Island schools to head down to the Nationals in Christchurch next year and claim the title back.

Baradene College took the overall top girls school honours with their strong performances throughout the weekend.

Prue Fowler of Diocesan School for Girls took a clean sweep of the sprints and won the Under 15 Girls race while Jack Carswell (St Peters School Cambridge) won the Under 5 Boys race convincingly.

In the Under 14 age groups Bee Townsend of Glen Eden won it for the girls winning two out of the three sprints while August Elworthy snuck ahead of his Takapuna Grammar teammate James Ochtman-Corfe to win the boys race.

Cross-code rider Maui Morrison of Cambridge Middle made it three golds from three races over the weekend in the Under 13 Boys category to add to his mountain bike, BMX and track titles.


Results, Points Race, Girls:

Under 13: Ruby Spring (Saint Kentigern) 10, 1; Jess Carswell (St Peters School Cambridge) 5, 2; Holly McInnes (Palmerston North Intermediate Normal School) 5, 3.

Under 14: Bee Townsend (Glen Eden Intermediate) 12, 1; Ella McKinney (Takapuna Grammar) 9, 2; Ally Gothard (St Marys College Akld) 5, 3.

Under 15: Prue Fowler (Diocesan School for Girls) 15, 1; Rose O’Brien (Palmerston North Girls High) 5, 2; Emma Hannan (Saint Kentigern) 4, 3.

Under 16: Maddi Douglas (Cambridge High School) 18, 1; Henrietta Christie (Lincoln High School) 8, 2; Ella Wyllie (Epsom Girls Grammar) 8, 3.

Under 17: Ally Wollaston (St Peters School Cambridge) 10, 1; Renee Young (Takapuna Grammar) 7, 2; Eva Parkinson (Waikato Diocesan School) 6, 3.

Under 20: Ellesse Andrews (St Peters Cambridge) 11, 1; Connie O’Brien (Palmerston North Girls High) 5, 2; Emma Smith (Villa Maria College) 5, 3.


Under 13: Maui Morrison (Cambridge Middle School) 10, 1; Hamish Banks (St Peters School Cambridge) 5, 2; Elliot Robertson (Scots College) 5, 3.

Under 14: August Elworthy (Takapuna Grammar School) 11, 1; James Ochtman-Corfe (Takapuna Grammar School) 10, 2; Chenuka Rajapakse (Palmerston North Boys High) 6, 3.

Under 15: Jack Carswell (St Peters Schools Cambridge) 13, 1; Jacob Rackham (Auckland Grammar) 6, 2; Luke Smith (Christchurch Boys High) 5, 3.

Under 16: Laurence Pithie (Christchurch Boys High) 14, 1; Nick Bowen (Takapuna Grammar) 8, 2; Jack Pronk (Palmerston North Boys High) 8, 3.

Under 17: Kiaan Watts (Hamilton Boys High) 9, 1; Lachlan Dickson (Auckland Grammar) 9, 2; Jack Edwards (Taupo-nui-a tia College) 7, 3.

Under 20: Madi Hartley-Brown (Palmerston North Boys High) 12, 1; Bailey O’Donnell (Christchurch Boys High) 12, 2; Aaron Wyllie (Auckland Grammar) 9, 3.