World Class field for ITU World Series Race Auckland

24/03/2015 by Steve Knowles

The final start lists have been published by the International Triathlon Union for the second round of the World Triathlon Series, the Barfoot & Thompson World Triathlon Auckland, with all racing this Sunday in on the waterfront CBD.

The men’s list is highlighted by the increasing dominance of Spain as the number one player in the sport, with four of the top six hailing from Spain, including current number one and winner of the first round in Abu Dhabi, Mario Mola.

Perennial favorite in New Zealand Javier Gomez is back to defend his Auckland race title from last year and looking to further improve on his season opener when he was not at 100% as a result of a hamstring strain.

Photo - Delly Carr ITU

Jonathan Brownlee has spent the past few weeks in the South Island, training at altitude in and around Wanaka and Queenstown and will be well acclimatized to conditions on Sunday as he also hopes to rebound from a rare off-podium finish for him in Abu Dhabi.

The next generation of Australians are starting to make themselves known on the WTS circuit too, with Dan Wilson and Ryan Bailie in the top ten, while 2014 third place getter in Auckland Aaron Royle ranks 11th of the starters.

New Zealand will be represented by Ryan Sissons (Auckland), Tony Dodds (Wanaka) as the Kiwis look to impress again at home. Sissons was 6th in this race in 2014 and Sam Osborne (Rotorua) who makes his first WTS race on the back of a strong New Zealand summer of racing.

If the Spanish are dominating the men’s scene, the American’s are certainly doing that on the women’s side of the sport. Inspired by Gwen Jorgensen and Sarah True (nee Groff), the USA women’s programme has gone ahead with the same size strides that Jorgensen uses so often to decimate her opponents on the run.

Jorgensen sits atop the rankings for Auckland and is joined in the top ten by Katie Zaferes (nee Hursey) at 2, Lindsey Jerdonek at 5 and Sarah True at 8. When you consider that new Plymouth winner Kaitlin Donner won’t race in Auckland and fast rising runner up from the Quality Hotel Plymouth International World Cup race on the weekend Renee Tomlin is ranked 48th, the strength in the USA programme is clearly evident.

The New Zealand influence on the women’s race has been affected by the withdrawals through injury of 2014 world number 5 Nicky Samuels (Wanaka), former Olympian Kate McIlroy (Wellington) and Tauranga’s Anneke Jenkins. Andrea Hewitt (Christchurch) will be on the start line following her season opening 5th place finish in Abu Dhabi and is joined by Simone Ackermann (Whangarei) and Rebecca Clarke (Auckland).


Final Start Lists – Top Ten

12:50pm Sunday 29 March


1 Gwen Jorgensen, USA  
2 Katie Zaferes, USA         
3 Barbara Riveros CHI       
4 Andrea Hewitt NZL          
5 Lindsey Jerdonek, USA 
6 Charlotte McShane, AUS          
7 Yuka Sato, JPN
8 Sarah True, USA 
9 Rebecca Robisch, GER 
10 Hanna Philippin GER  
– Full start list CLICK HERE


4:40pm Sunday 29 March


1 Mario Mola, ESP                                                                                      
2 Joao Silva, POR                                                                                                  
3 Jonathan Brownlee, GBR                                                                                              
4 Javier Gomez Noya, ESP                                                                                               
5 Fernando Alarza, ESP                                                                                                   
6 Vicente Hernandez, ESP                                                                                                           
7 Gabor Faldum, HUN                                                                               
8 Dan Wilson, AUS                                                                                                
9 Ryan Bailie, AUS                                                                                                
10 Henri Schoeman, RSA
– Full start list CLICK HERE


Event Website (for all event, course and entry information)