Aon Maadi Cup


The 2021 Aon Maadi Cup (New Zealand Secondary School Championships) is being hosted by Karapiro Rowing at Lake Karapiro, Cambridge from 22-27 March.


Run by the NZSSRA and Rowing NZ, the Aon Maadi Cup is the national championships for school rowing. Being New Zealand's largest rowing regatta, it's the most prestigious event on the school rowing calendar with six days of racing.


Amongst perfect conditions, A, B and C finals for 26 events were raced from 7.57am. Live results from all races today can be found at, as well as a full event schedule and entries.


A live stream of today and tomorrow’s racing is available at


Girls’ U17 Single

Sacred Heart Girls' College Sophia Hodson is coached by Philippa Baker-Hogan and Gus Berghan and won her heat and semi-final ahead of winning gold in the girls’ U17 single. Emma Averill of Otumoetai College won silver and Laura McCabe of Macleans College won bronze.


Boys’ U17 Single

Coached by former New Zealand rower Axel Dickinson, Riley Wills of St Paul’s Collegiate School won his heat and semi-final in the boys’ U17 single ahead of taking out today’s A Final. St Peter's College's Xavier Simpkins took silver and Huanui College's Will Tattersfield took bronze.

Beginning in 2018, Aon’s Maadi Cup Legacy initiative provides the school of both the boy’s and girl’s U17 single scull winners with equipment, and tomorrow Aon’s Deputy Managing Director Russell Bailey will present gold medalling schools Sacred Heart Girls' College and St Paul’s Collegiate School with a new Laszlo skiff.


Girls’ Novice Eight

With 19 entries, 0.02 of a second separated first and second in the Girls’ U18 novice eight. It was Rangi Ruru Girls’ School who came out on top with crew Sophie Cusiel, Sophie Schneideman, Milly Gallagher, Jessica Tavendale, Alice Ferguson, Sophie Payne, Arabelle McGuckin, Lucy Vance and Sienna O'Shannessey (cox).


Boys’ U16 Coxed Quad

Whakatane High School’s Ryan Calder, Shaun Snow, Luke Berquist, Zakary Boonen and Conrad Hopkins (cox) took gold in the boys’ U16 coxed quad event in 6:31.23. The crew are coached by Graham Watt. King's College’s Lewis Mazza-Carson, Cole Barfoot, Baxter McGillivray, Callan Ogilvie and Oliver Horton (cox) took silver and St Peter’s College (Auckland) won bronze with crew Liam O'Malley, Owain Leigh, Shay Reid, Tom Leon-Brown and Jeremy Creak (cox).


Girls’ U18 Pair

Christchurch Girls’ High Schools Emily Bowden and Orla Fitzgerald won gold in the girls’ U18 pair in (7:44.73). Brooke Pitchford and Emily Gordon of Sacred Heart Girls College (Hamilton) won silver, and Alice Wallis and Phoebe Wallis of Rangi Ruru Girls’ School won bronze.

Credit Rowing NZ/Art of Rowing

Boys’ U15 Eight

Auckland Grammar School took gold in the boys’ U15 event with crew Daniel Morton, Liam Cassidy, Hsiang-Yu Chao, Finn Houghton, Mark Galloway, Luca Toner, Matthew le Gallais, Finlay Dickens and Samuel Fisher (cox). In second place was Westlake Boys’ School crew of Thomas Link, Quinn Wiltshire, Ryan Haves, Robert Iuoras, Leo Durbin, Mikyle Fonagy, Adam Grapengiesser, Joseph Dennis and Liam Veldman (cox). Hamilton Boys’ High School took bronze with crew Rhys Laker, Dylan Worthington, Joshua Wickers, William Milne, Caleb Valler, Dylan McConnel, Boaz King, Kellan Fleming and Cameron Natta (cox).


Tomorrow marks the last day of the Aon Maadi Cup and includes A, B and C finals for a further 24 events.


How to follow all the action

  • A full event schedule, entries and live results are available on
  • An event programme is available online at The event programme contains Finals race schedules, competing club codes and colours, full 2021 entries, and details of all trophies and all historic results.
  • A live stream of racing will be available on Friday 26 and Saturday 27 March at
  • Photos, videos and updates will be posted regularly on the Aon Maadi Cup's Instagram and Facebook platforms
  • SKY Sports will screen a highlights package on the 2021 Aon Maadi Cup from 1 April