Halberg Decade Awards


Due to Covid-19 causing massive disruption in sport within 2020, the Halberg Foundation made the decision to honour only the sporting champions of the past decade as the core of its 2021 awards ceremony.


Halberg Awards Decade Champion winners and finalists:


Decade Champion: Men's Pair, Hamish Bond and Eric Murray (rowing)

Team of the Decade: Men's Pair, Hamish Bond and Eric Murray (rowing)

Sportswoman of the Decade: Lisa Carrington (canoe racing)

Sportsman of the Decade: Richie McCaw (rugby)

Coach of the Decade: Gordon Walker (canoe racing)

Emerging Talent Athlete of the Decade: Lydia Ko (golf)

Para Athlete of the Decade: Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming)

New Zealand's Favourite Sporting Moment of the Decade: Nathan Cohen and Joseph Sullivan (rowing)

Sport New Zealand Leadership Award: Johanna Wood (football)



Photo credit CRNZ