Thrilling Finishes at BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge




Epic results unfolded today at the 43rd annual BDO Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge.


Spectators lined the streets of Taupō to watch the fast-paced 100km Bayleys Women’s Classic Elite Race. It was a tight race with the top three podium winners crossing the finish line at almost the same time. Sharlotte Lucas finished in first place (2:50:21), Sharlotte also placed second in last night’s Criterium race.


Road Photos

Kirsty McCallum placed second (2:50:21) and Jorja Swain third (2:50:22).


Kees Duyvesteyn won the Holden Men’s Classic Elite Race (3:43:06) followed very closely by Michael Torckler (3:43:06) previous winner of the Holden Men’s Classic. Hayden McCormick placed third (3:43:07) an astounding result considering he had two mechanical failures throughout the race.

 MTB photos Jack McKenzie

Connor Johnston blitzed the BDO Huka XL men’s mountain bike event (3:43:19). Sam Shaw came second (3:43:22) repeating his 2018 result, Caleb Bottcher was third (3:47:33), also repeating last year’s place. 


Emma McCosh 4:36:00 placed first in the Huka XL women’s mountain bike event, followed by Sarah Beadel.


Clint Kimmins from Sydney completed the four-lap Maxi Enduro in an impressive time of twenty two hours, 11 seconds.


First place in Bike Barn Round the Lake 160km ride was Mark Parry (3:50:54) and first female was Louise Delaney (04:12:24).


Debbie Chambers, event director, says it was one of the best crowds she’s ever seen at the finish line. “It was great to see heaps of supporters out enjoying the sunshine and cheering riders along. Congratulations to the first round of winners and everyone who is taking part today.”


Download the app for all the event info and to follow rider’s progress on the day. Simply searc