Tour de France Stg14 - Soren Kragh Andersen


Dane rider Soren Kragh Andersen rode to victory on stage 14 of the Tour de France

The Team Sunweb rode away with 3kms to go taking the stage with Tour leader Primoz Roglic retaining his 44 second lead and the yellow jersey.

After the bunch controlled most of the day, including a number of moves on two late climbs, Kragh Andersen timed his move to perfection when he sensed a momentary lapse in momentum with just over three kilometres remaining.

“It’s incredible, I didn’t really believe this morning when I woke up that this would happen,” smiled a jubilant Kragh Andersen at the finish. “I’m really happy with the team effort from the guys today, they made it hard enough that I could find the perfect moment to attack. I saw when I went that everybody was tired and they started to look at each other; I knew then that it was the right moment. I had good legs and could go full gas all the way to the line. We’re taking the race in our hands, maybe we don’t realise it’s the Tour de France – but we’re just racing and it happens to be on the biggest stage in the world.”

Stage 14 result
1 -  Soren Kragh Andersen (Den/Team Sunweb) 4hrs 28mins 10secs
2 -  Luka Mezgec (Slo/Mitchelton-Scott) +15secs
3 -  Simone Consonni (Ita/Cofidis) Same time
4 -  Peter Sagan (Svk/Bora-Hansgrohe)
5 -  Casper Pedersen (Den/Team Sunweb)
6 -  Jasper Stuyven (Bel/Trek-Segafredo)
7 -  Matteo Trentin (Ita/CCC Team)
8 -  Oliver Naesen (Bel/AG2R La Mondiale)
9 -  Sonny Colbrelli (Ita/Bahrain McLaren)
10 -  Marc Hirschi (Swi/Team Sunweb)

General classification after stage 14
1 -  Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) 61hrs 03mins 00secs
2 -  Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates) +44secs
3 -  Egan Bernal (Col/Ineos Grenadiers) +59secs
4 -  Rigoberto Uran (Col/EF Pro Cycling) +1min 10secs
5 -  Nairo Quintana (Col/Arkea-Samsic) +1min 12secs
6 -  Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana) +1min 31secs
7 -  Adam Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) +1min 42secs
8 -  Mikel Landa (Spa/Bahrain McLaren) +1min 55secs
9 -  Richie Porte (Aus/Trek-Segafredo) +2mins 06secs
10 -  Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +2mins 54secs

Photo credi Sunweb